2018 Film Independent

Jordan Peele accepts this year's best feature award for "Get Out" at the Film Independent Spirit Awards in Santa Monica. (Tommaso Boddi / Getty Images)

2018 Film Independent Spirit Awards: The complete list of winners and nominees

Nick Kroll and John Mulaney hosted the 2018 Film Independent Spirit Awards on March 3 from the Santa Monica beach. "Get Out" won the award for best feature with Jordan Peele picking up the award for best director. Timothée Chalamet and Frances McDormand won the best lead acting awards. Greta Gerwig won best screenplay for "Lady Bird." The Robert Altman award went to "Mudbound." "Life and Nothing More" won the John Cassavetes award, given to the best feature made for under $500,000.

'Call Me By Your Name' review by Justin Chang.

Jordan Peele explains 'the sunken place'.

Jordan Peele  Winner

Filmmaker Agnes Varda and murlaist JR in "Faces Places" movie. (Cohen Media Group)

"Faces Places" Winner
Directors: Agnés Varda, JR; Producer: Rosalie Varda
Director/Producer: Lana Wilson
Director/Producer: Ramona S. Diaz; Producer: Rey Cuerdo

In telling the story of Harding’s life until that fateful incident, “I, Tonya” seeks to set the record straight, but also to complicate it as well.

The trailer for "Get Out," written and directed by Jordan Peele.

Sam Rockwell, left, and Frances McDormand in a scene from "Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri. (Merrick Morton / AP)

Director/Producer: Atsuko Hirayanagi
Producers: Han West, Yukie Kito, Jessica Elbaum

Kumail Nanjiani and Emily V. Gordon tell their love story - and its twists - in 'The Big Sick'.

Daniela Vega in the film "A Fantastic Woman." (Sony Pictures Classics)

Director: Sebastián Lelio
Director: William Oldroyd
Director: Rungano Nyoni
Director: Robin Campillo
Director: Andrey Zvyagintsev

Directors Greta Gerwig (“Lady Bird”), Jordan Peele (“Get Out”) and Kathryn Bigelow (“Detroit”) discuss the particular power stories wield to humanize the "other."

Greta Gerwig  Winner

Allison Janney  Winner

Sam Rockwell  Winner
Writer/Director/Producer: Ana Asensio
Producers: Larry Fessenden, Noah Greenberg, Chadd Harbold, Jenn Wexler
Writer/Director: Michael O'Shea
Producer: Susan Leber
Writer/Director/Producer: Amman Abbasi
Writer: Steven Reneau
Producers: Lachion Buckingham, Lachion Buckingham

Two Southern families bound by war and prejudice in Dee Rees' drama 'Mudbound'.